TRAINING 2019

“Understanding the effects of childhood sexual abuse”

CHOICES run training courses for trainee, newly-qualified and experienced counsellors who wish to extend their knowledge and understanding of working with the effects of childhood sexual abuse in the counselling room.

“Brilliant six days (training) that is transferable to other aspects of my counselling.”

This experiential course runs over six Saturdays and aims to:

  • increase knowledge and understanding of issues around childhood sexual abuse and its effects
  • consider the experience and impact of CSA from the child’s perspective
  • explore CSA as ‘trauma’, including its impact on the brain and physiology, and the implications for working therapeutically with this
  • provide tools, information and resources for working long term with survivors of childhood sexual abuse
  • provide tools for brief therapy and dealing with disclosure
  • increase participants skills and confidence to work in this specialist area
  • Provide 30 hours CPD

The next course is in the Autumn 2019, in the Cambridge area, on the following six Saturdays:

Saturday 5 October 2019; 10-4pm

Saturday 12 October 2019; 10-4pm

Saturday 2 November 2019; 10-4pm

Saturday 9 November 2019; 10-4pm

Saturday 23 November 2019; 10-4pm

Saturday 30 November 2019; 10-4pm

We will also run an early Spring 2020 course in Peterborough, on the following six Saturdays:

Saturday 1 February 2020; 10-4pm

Saturday 8 February 2020; 10-4pm

Saturday 29 February 2020; 10-4pm

Saturday 7 March 2020; 10-4pm

Saturday 21 March 2020; 10-4pm

Saturday 28 March 2020; 10-4pm

Volunteer placement opportunities will be available subject to funding.

For more information and to register your interest please email admin@choicescounselling.co.uk